Skip to content

Packing for New York

August 21, 2011

I’m so excited! On Monday, I’m going away for 4 days with my BF to The Big Apple (anyone know why they call NYC that? Please share). One of my favourite parts of planning a trip is planning what clothes to pack. I definitely defy the stereotype of woman who seem to pack up their lives when going away on a trip. I am a notoriously light packer and have some sort of magical Mary Poppins powers to pack a ton of stuff into the smallest bag possible. My key to packing light, is packing clothes that mix and match, multi-task and bring a couple accessories that can really change up an outfit.

This is everything I’m taking (clothes only. I’ll spare you the boring and intimately personal contents of my toiletry bag :P )

  • Spotted print shorts (Jack by BB Dakotafrom Charlie Boutique)
  • Green silk tunic (Kimchi Blue from Urban Outfitters)
  • Blue silk scarf (flea market find)
  • Elastic cinch belt (H&M)
  • Braided leather belt (my grandfather’s)
  • Denim shirt (Zara)
  • Satin print Criss-cross vest (Kaych)
  • Black leggings (Lululemon)
  • White mesh tank top (Joeffer Caoc)
  • Leather cross body bag (Marc by Marc Jacobsfrom Holt Renfrew)
  • Straw fedora (DeLuxfrom Charlie Boutique)

Plus neutral black ballet flats (H&M) that go with everything.

Some simple jewelry to add a little something extra.

  • Earrings (Bernard K. Passmanfrom the Bernard K. Passman Gallery in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands)
  • Multi strand beaded bracelet – (Betsey Johnsongift)

Lastly, some great black sunnies I found for $15 at the drugstore.

I’m only going for 4 days but I can mix and match these pieces into several outfits…

     

     

If I added a couple more accessories, the possibilities could be endless! And everything, including my laptop, fits into this small leather Heys backpack.

In fact, this bag is only a little over half full…told you I have skills :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 2:01 pm

    Wonderful weblog!

Leave a Reply

