Skip to content

Long overdue update – S/S 2012 teaser!

July 28, 2011

I can’t believe I have completely neglected my blog for over a month! I apologize but I swear it’s not out of laziness!

I have been working like crazy on developing my Spring/Summer 2012 collection. I’m very excited about it and can’t wait to show you all what I’ve been up to, but for now I’ll just let you in on my inspiration and keep the nitty-gritty details to myself ;)

My inspiration all started with a song – Expropriation Blues by Kay Pettigrew

The “down-south” bluesy vibe of the song led me to dream up an elaborate story about a girl living in the 1930’s depression, with drought leaving the farm she lived on with her father barren. With her father’s health succumbing to the heat, she’s kicked off her land by their unsympathetic landlord, leaving her to fend for herself in a wasteland. Unable to carry much with her, she takes clothing with the most practical and sentimental value – her two favourite dresses and some of her father’s clothes to keep a piece of him close to her. His clothes of course don’t fit her properly, so she finds ways to alter and adapt them to her body and for the heat…

Can you see where I’m going with this? Stay tuned for more details!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

