Skip to content

SCAM ALERT! Attention Independent Designers

June 20, 2011

I have a little Public Service Announcement for those eager independent designers out there like me:

I recently received an e-mail that I revealed to be a scam that targets independent designers and felt it my responsibility to share this with my fellow designers so no one falls for this!

This is the e-mail I received:

I Am Interested In Your Product

Hello

This is (TGolia Fashion Home) we specialized mostly Woman,man,kids fashion Items like Clothes,Dress,Tops,T-Shirts,Handbag,Bottoms,jewelry, Electronic set, computers ….ETC  we have more than 6 stores here in Abidjan, and in the other cities here in Cote D’Ivoire.I am interested in your products,

kindly pls get back to me so that i can be able to make selections if you are interested in selling to me My method of payment is Visa Or Master Credit card Payment method,and kindly pls don’t hesitate to reply back if you accept

Waiting to read from you

Mrs Tanoe Golia

TGolia Fashion Home
No 256 A220 Route De AJAME
Abidjan,Ivory-Coast,
West Africa
Email;tfhhome@yahoo.com.ve

Having never heard of the company TGolia before, I immediately Googled them – nothing came up. I then searched their mailing info and the results that popped up were all about scam warnings. The website scamwarners.com has an excellent breakdown about this scam.

If you respond, they will correspond with you quite convincingly and place an order for whatever it is your selling then pay with stolen credit cards, overpay you, then asking you to pay the extra to their “shipping agent”.

Ways to spot a scam like this noticing like the message is sort of vague and you are not addressed directly, the e-mail address it is sent from is different from the one it requests you reply to, plus their e-mail is a free address like yahoo, hotmail, gmail, etc. (not very professional).

To see all the details about this scam please visit scamwarners.com and remember to research everything! Don’t let excitement pull wool over your eyes – protect yourself

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

