Skip to content

Surprise goody basket!

June 13, 2011

Today I was surprised with a basket full of goodies and I feel like a kid on Christmas, not sure which new toy to play with first!

The grandmother of one of my mother’s clients, who has spent her life as an exquisite dressmaker, is downsizing and has to surrender all the remnants and extra sewing supplies she’s accumulated over the years. Her solution was to donate her well inventoried collection to someone who would appreciate and make use of it – me!

With a knock on the door, my mom’s client presented me with a laundry basket full of carefully bundled scraps. I hastily unloaded it on the table to see what I got…

Some bundled remnants of silk lining, taffeta and crepe de chine…

A shoe box stuffed with neatly folded lining, more taffeta and chiffon…

A big bundle of pretty blue lace…

This crazy lace! I have no idea what to do with it but it still excites me!

There is even scraps of leather! I am super excited about this! I have been wanting to experiment with leather for a while, but having to commit to buying a skin when I have no project in mind and never worked with it before, had been putting me off. Free leather = play time :)

Besides fabric, there is also a great assortment of sweet vintage trims and an abundance of buttons! I love buttons! I can’t explain it, they just make me happy. Shell buttons are my absolute favourite…

And how can you not smile at these colourful ones in their little jars, just like candy :)

Ideas are flying around like confetti! It’s a bit overwhelming but oh so exciting. Are any of these pics inspiring you too? Please share! especially if you have an idea for that crazy lace

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori Canner permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:39 pm

    What a haul! If I ever decide to stop sewing I’ll give you my stuff too!

  2. pinsandstories.com permalink
    August 10, 2011 3:56 am

    I guess great minds think like??? I really loved the blog specially the name ahahha since Im a fashion student is always nice to view inspiring things. defly will follow it..
    Check out my blog Im on a break so havent post anything about work but that will change soon…
    be my guest to follow it
    De
    pinsandstories.com

    • August 16, 2011 9:16 am

      Thanks so much! You are exactly the the type of person I write this blog for. I hope to inspire other aspiring designers like you and pass on some advice as I navigate my way :) Love your blog too – just bookmarked it!

Leave a Reply

