Skip to content

The Clothing Show Recap

May 31, 2011

The Clothing Show is now behind me, so let’s recap!

Friday morning, I woke up bright and early to pack up my clothes in the suit case, which I left to last minute to make sure they wouldn’t get too wrinkled. Shortly after 9 am my Dad came by in his rental car (he flew all the way from Whistler to help me get ready for my first show! Best Dad ever!) he had taken out the back seats so everything would fit in the little 2 door hatchback. We even had some room to spare :)

We got down to the Queen Elizabeth Building at the Exhibition Grounds just before 11am, where Carissa of Copious Couture was already waiting for me, and we got right to work loading everything in and setting everything up. We didn’t really have a plan of attack, we just kind of figured it out as we went and it took us until 3 to get everything in order. I was so thankful my Dad was there! His crafty handyman ways got all the lighting rigged up and turned disaster into triumph by making an awesome freestanding 3-sided display for Carissa’s accessories by zip-tying her 3 pegboard displays together – we never would have thought of that! Our booth looked amazing! It looked like a little boutique, which was exactly what we wanted and it definitely stood out from the rest :)

Friday was a short selling day, only from 5 – 9 pm, and is notoriously considered the scope out day for customers to get the lay of the land for their weekend shopping plan. That said, no sales, but we had a ton of traffic!

Saturday was a long day, 11 am – 9 pm, with so much that happened, it’s a bit of a blur. They had runway shows every hour, where my collection showed twice (1 pm and 5 pm).

This definitely brought us attention and with our booth being right next to the runway, a lot of traffic! We were interviewed by some web magazines (Envy Magazine, Bohemia) and received so much encouragement and positive feedback that was so motivating. We made friends with our awesome booth neighbours With Love Lingerie and Lipgloss & Black, adding to our encouraging support system. This day, my favourite lady Claudia proved to be a best seller :)

Sunday was a busy day and just flew by. The positive responses kept coming, and we had another great interview with the blog Crafted Spaces, which Carissa and I will also have a live podcast interview this coming Wednesday about what it was like to collaborate together on the show. At 6 pm the show was done and with the help of family and friends, we had the booth dismantled and packed away in only 15 minutes!

Overall I found the show to be a positive and encouraging experience. I was able to step out for the first time as my brand, introducing it to the public and received so many compliments on my work. Sales weren’t the best, but it was just a lesson of learning who exactly my  my target market is and this show wasn’t tailored to my customer. For my first time out, it wasn’t bad :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 10:19 am

    So much fun! I kinda of miss it already!!!!

    Carissa

  2. Arlene permalink
    June 4, 2011 9:30 pm

    It looks great I wished I could have seen the show. Keep me posted on any news.

    You make me proud.
    Arlene ♥

Leave a Reply

