Skip to content

The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree

May 8, 2011

My mom has always been one to stand out in a crowd. I’ve heard stories of her elaborate outfits in the ‘80’s that bordered on costumes. Ranging from a burgundy cat suit with thigh-high boots to a nautical themed sundress with matching sailor hat. She used to make a lot of her own clothes – anything from gala ball gowns to whipping up a skirt before work because she hadn’t done her laundry.

I remember my mom always making something and I would look forward to trips to Fabricland the same way most kids looked forward to going to an amusement park.

So, Happy Mother’s Day Mom! Here’s to you for always being my inspiration and fuelling my fashion fire before I even knew I had a spark.

Classic ’80’s…

Always a rebel, no white wedding gown for her! She took the opportunity to buy a lipstick red taffeta dress she lusted over in a chic boutique in fashionable Yorkville.

And she wore it over and over again…

My Mom even had a Betsey Johnson original! An edgy black corset front floor length gown. Where is this dress now? Excellent question… she lent it to a friend and she NEVER returned it! SHAME!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Arlene permalink
    June 4, 2011 9:35 pm

    Hi K

    I remember your Mom’s puple cat suit and her blue hair ( not at the same time). She truly is an inspiration teaching herself to sew and making you and your sisiter all those beautiful clothes. Hey who is that young guy in the photo LOL

    Arlene

  2. Arlene permalink
    June 6, 2011 5:12 pm

    If I find it I’ll send it to you.

Leave a Reply

