Skip to content

A dress in a day

March 3, 2011

Yesterday was a complete success! I worked on the sateen sun dress, and it all worked in one shot! It was a welcome relief after the headaches with the last two pieces.

The top of this dress is based on the bias cut double layered camisole I recently made, so I started by cutting that out on straight grain, for more stability, and only cut it to the waist since the dress has a waist seam. There is a bit of excess in the waist, so I gently gathered it in to the finished waist measurement of the dress to see if I liked the blouson effect. As you can see from the sketch, this dress is to have an open back with a wide elastic that goes across to stabilize (and cover up a strapless bra) so while I had it on the judy, I penciled out the shape of the neckline to transfer to my pattern after.

I quickly drafted up an above the knee flared skirt, then attached that to the test of the top and VOILA!

I love how feminine and easy-breezy this turned out, I can’t wait to make it in the real fabric!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 10:12 am

    i have always wanted to learn to sew — this is such a gorgeous silhouette! i bet it will be absolutely stunning when you are done :) xo

    visit me!

    http://dressedupallligators.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

