Skip to content

Dusting off the knitting needles

November 2, 2010

The temperature has dropped and I’m ready to pull out my knitting needles! There is nothing more cozy than wrapping up in plush, chunky, lovingly hand-knit wears when the frost has settled in. Last fall I made a chunky purple cowl made of gorgeous alpaca wool, with 3 oversized button closure. This fall I have no idea what I want to make but I do know I want to challenge myself. So naturally, I’ve been scouring Etsy for inspiration.

I figure I’ll start with a chunky cowl for a bit of a warm up (no pun intended), and here are some beauties that are getting my wheels turning.

CAMBRIDGE (chunky cowl scarf) in Denim by Yarn Over Movement

Oversized Noni Tunnel Cowl in Mortar Brown by Swak Designs

Two-tone Snood Cowl Wrap With Horn Toggles by Swak Designs

For when I’m ready to try a project that isn’t a simple rectangle, these precious pieces are inspiring me to take the leap!

ORILLIA (merino eyelet shrug) by Yarn Over Movement

Hand Knit Convertible Funnel Cloud Shrug by Good Egg

Frills On My Shoulder Sweater in Cappuccino by Love and Knit

Circular Rainbow Hippie Vest by Love and Knit

 

Here are some pieces from the Etsy store Oveja Negra that are phenomenal! Only in my dreams would I ever be able to come close to creating such masterpieces. They are so intricate, I can’t even imagine the amount of time and patience that each piece takes. Stunning!

RITA (hand knit vest cardigan) in Camel

RIONA (hand knit cardigan coat) in Warm Grey

MIA (hand knit cardigan with pockets)


4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 1:09 pm

    We love ovejanegra’s knits! Rosario is a lovely girl and her work is wonderful!!

  2. October 8, 2011 2:25 pm

    Great post! I love the OvejaNegra’s pieces!!

  3. October 8, 2011 6:51 pm

    Great post! Riona and Mia are definite my favorites, fabulous work!!

  4. October 9, 2011 12:17 pm

    I like the MIA sweeter….so pretty!

Leave a Reply

