Skip to content

Diamonds are this girl’s best friend

August 30, 2010

Unknown to me before I sailed on my cruise is one of the top priorities of cruisers is to buy diamonds. When I stepped on board, my only intentions were to drink pina coladas and work on my tan, buying diamonds was the furthest thing on my mind, but buying diamonds is exactly what I did.

On the ship was this wonderful woman, Liz, who was the port shopping guide and held mini seminars the day before going into ports to brake down the best places to shop, the best deals and how to get the most value for your dollar specifically when it came to precious gemstones. I came into this knowing zip about gems, other than they’re pretty and sparkley and I would one day in the very far off future hope to have some of my own. I then came out of it knowing the best cuts of diamonds, the history of Tanzanite and Ammolite (rare stones I’d never heard of) and actually bought a pair of blue diamond stud earings.

One of the most important parts of the seminar was learning who the reliable certified retailers were, and the creme de la creme of Caribbean gem retailers is Diamonds International. They’ve been around for over 20 years and are known for their impeccable quality, unrivaled selection and outstanding customer service. Oh and did I mention ridiculously low prices! Their prices are half of what you’d find in any North American jewelry store, you have to see it to believe it! How they are able to offer such great prices is they buy their stones in bulk direct from De Beers mines, do all the cutting and setting themselves, then sell direct to the customer. No middlemen. Not to mention, selling in the Caribbean means duty and tax free.

Needless to say, I got swept away in the cruisers’ mind set and fell for a pair of classic 1/2 ctw blue diamond studs, that were remarkably priced (especially after a bit of negotiation). Until then, I had never seen a real blue diamond and I have fallen in love with them. The color is so remarkable, a vibrant and rich slightly green blue, nothing like the royal sapphire color we all saw in Titanic’s ‘Heart of the Ocean’. The salesman insisted I put them on, and when I saw how they set off my blue eyes I knew they were mine. I still can’t believe I am now a diamond owner! Aren’t they lovely!

And a big THANK YOU to the wonderful salesman at Diamonds International!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 4:46 pm

    Great blog 9/10! Bookmarked :)

Leave a Reply

