Skip to content

Dreaming in Fabricland

June 11, 2010

I love Fabricland! Living in suburbia, if I need fabric and don’t want to make an hour long trip to Toronto’s downtown core I go to Fabricland. Unfortunately, over the last few years, Fabriclands all over the GTA have been closing and I was devastated to learn the largest and greatest Fabricland I’ve ever been to (which is only 20 minutes away from me) is closing this July! As disappointed as I am about this news, the upside is clearly MAJOR SALES! When I finally made my way over there, the entire store was 66% and the all fabric had already been previously marked down! I was in fabric heaven and wasn’t going to waste these awesome discounts by buying just anything, I was after the best quality fabric I could find. I walked out with some gorgeous silks I can’t wait to work with.

I took home 4 m of green print stretch charmeuse, 6 m of burnt rose cross-hatch print charmeuse, 5 m of black and white cross-hatch print charmeuse and 8 m of blue/gold iridescent silk.

I had bought a couple meters of  the rose print a few months earlier to make myself a dress (sketch below) and I figured if the pattern I have started works out, I could make a few and maybe start another collection around it, hence the 6 more meters. By the way, I originally bought the fabric for $22/meter and with all the mark downs the second time around I got it for $3/m!

I’m hopefully going on a cruise in August, which has two formal nights. Therefore I want to use the green and the blue silks to make myself two beautiful cocktail dresses, and my mind has been cranking about it.

Fabric is always my greatest inspiration. I will definitely make a few more visits before my beloved Fabricland closes to take full advantage of the ever-shrinking price points and get my creative juices flowing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 1:30 pm

    I can’t wait to see everything! Those fabrics are gorgeous!!!!

    Carissa

  2. June 30, 2010 5:23 am

    I can’t wait to see everything! Those fabrics are gorgeous!!!!
    +1

Leave a Reply

