Skip to content

Me, make a hat?

April 25, 2010

A friend of mine needed my help to make him a hat for a costume he’s putting together.

He sent me the following picture of the character he’s dressing as then said he doesn’t want it to be as cartoony, more rough and grungy. Looking at the picture I thought, “it looks like a simple pageboy hat. I think I can pull that off,” so I hesitantly said yes. Now, I say hesitantly, because I have never in my life made a hat before, but figured I’ll give it a whirl – if it doesn’t work out, he has plenty of time to find something on the internet.

Last week, I bought 1/2 yd. of cotton twill in a dull aubergine color and today I set out to make the hat. I sat down and started to think about my plan of attack, when a storm cloud of anxiety began to roll in. I had no idea what I was doing. So naturally, I started to freak out – “I’ve never made a hat before!” “I don’t know anything about hats!” “Why did I say yes? I should tell him I can’t do it.”

Suddenly a ray of sunshine broke through my doubt and I remembered I had a pageboy hat buried somewhere in my closet. Sure enough, there it was, suffocated by my bountiful scarf collection. “I can just make a pattern from this!” Easy as pie, I measured it out and made myself an easy hat pattern in no more than 20 minutes. It was a breeze to sew as well; the whole thing, pattern, cutting, sewing and pressing only took me about three hours to finish. I can’t believe I got so worried about the whole thing. Now that it’s all said and done, I’ve got a great hat pattern, so I can whip up a hat for anyone at any time – does anyone need a hat?

So here’s the finished product! The only thing left to do is some finishing touches, like some distressing and the logo, but I need to discuss that with my buddy before I go ahead. Not bad, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

