Skip to content

Sheridan Illustration Grad Show

April 23, 2010

Last night, I popped over to the Sheridan college illustration graduates’ art exhibition. I am quite the art nerd and on the rare occasion like to indulge myself in fleeting bouts of pretentious pondering over various forms of art. When I design, I always find art an excellent source of inspiration, whether it be for color concepts or developing a mood. I love going to student exhibitions, because I find it exciting and inspiring to see the artists when they are so passionate about their work and have such a tangible thirst to prove themselves. I was extremely impressed by the overwhelming talent of these illustration grads and pleasantly surprised to see that most had developed a well defined niche for their work. I could go on and on about all of my diverse favorites, but since this is a “fashion” blog, I’ll just showcase my picks that are relevant.

This first illustrator, Nicole DeCaria, I found most inspiring to me since her display was strongly fashion based. I love her ink work – her use of negative space and splashes of color to effectively suggest form, is a style I generally gravitate to. To see more from Nicole, visit visualchaos.ca

This next illustrator, Deena Pagliarello, does some wicked editorial caricatures! Her depictions of celebrities and summarizations of recent films are so sharply entertaining, I can easily picture them published in popular entertainment periodicals. Due to her strong use of line, her illustrations have such an engaging mood and attitude to them. Very satirical and witty, to see more visit deenaillustration.com.

Last but not least is Jen Pilles. I love her raw and whimsical cartoony style. Simple lines, bold colors and great patterns. Visit jenpilles.com for more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

