Skip to content

The One Of A Kind Show and my new favorite bra

April 6, 2010

For me, the One Of A Kind Show is always a must-see. Held at the Direct Energy Center at Exhibition Place, from March 31st to April 4th, it is always chalk full of goodies in any and every possible description. My Mom and I have made it a tradition to start in the food section, lingering longer than necessary, making sure to try as many delicious samples as humanly possible; ranging from delectable dips to anything chocolate covered. We weave our way through all the vendors of various craftsmanships, always pleased to see some of our seasoned favorites. We finally finish off in the “Fashion District.” This is a great place to find great local up-and-coming fashion talent, as well as great deals from more established local talent like Desperately Different and Karamea. I always feel so inspired walking through this section, seeing people like me taking their first steps to launch their lines. One of these such vendors that really caught my eye, which I am going to showcase, was Fortnight Lingerie.

The Sophia bra and pantie set. This bra looks sooo good on and the support is amazing! Click for bra info.

This intimate booth, displaying the most adorable, retro inspired lingerie instantly caught my eye – particularly a sweet little pink color-blocked, soft-cupped bra. While I oogled and fondled the bra, I started chatting with the sales women, who also happened to be the designer. Fortnight’s main goal is to provide excellent fitting under garments. The retro look isn’t favored just for cute-factor, but also to provide the best support for your girls. All the pieces are immaculately handmade, with an extraordinary selection of bra sizes, ranging from A-F, 30-40!¬† She was also doing free bra fittings in her little change room (I found out I should be wearing a 34B). After I made my purchase (look at it! I couldn’t resist!), we began to talk shop. When she finished fashion school, she went off to Europe to train in the fine art of lingerie, where she acquired her passion for perfect fit. She had only launched her company 6 months prior and gladly offered her contact info, for if I ever need some advice on starting my own company. I think some brain-picking over coffee is in order.

To learn more about Fortnight Lingerie and to see the rest of the collection, visit fortnightlingerie.com or hit up the Fortnight Etsy shop

Other fashionable One Of A Kind Show picks: Desperately Different, Karamea, Grob, Cokluch, Erin Tracy Designs, Matsu Jewellery

Leave a Reply

